Democracy is not a
spectator sport

Take Action for Renters: Don’t let Yale Park Happen Again

September 26th, 2018

Please join OTOC leaders in contacting your council member and the Mayor’s office and ask for a prompt solution that would prevent homes from becoming unsafe and uninhabitable. Use the paragraph below or your own words to send your support for a solution to the code enforcement system.

We believe the situation at Yale Park was a tragedy that should not be repeated, and a rental property registration and inspection would prevent rental properties from reaching such substandard conditions. We are asking City Council change our “complaint driven” system to one that proactively prevents homes from falling into disrepair.

See OTOC’s Research on Proactive Rental Property Registration and Inspection ordinances:

OTOC Position Paper on Proactive Rental Inspection Systems

Sept 26 Overview of Rental Property Registration Ordinance

Dennis Walsh Housing Article 8-9-18

Last two speakers of OTOC 2018 Budget Testimony

Mayor’s Hotline: 402-444-5555 or hotline@cityofomaha.org

District 1  Pete Festersen  402-444-5527    or   Pete.Festersen@cityofomaha.org

District 2   Ben Gray   402-444-5524   or    Ben.Gray@cityofomaha.org

District 3  Chris Jerram   402-444-5525    or  Chris.Jerram@cityofomaha.org

District 4  Vinny Palermo     402-444-5522   or   Vinny.Palermo@cityofomaha.org

District 5  Rich Pahls   402-444-5528    or  Rich.Pahls@cityofomaha.org

District 6    Brinker Harding  402-444-5523    or  Brinker.Harding@cityofomaha.org

District 7   Aimee Melton  402-444-5526    or   Aimee.Melton@cityofomaha.org

To find who your city council member is, visit https://citycouncil.cityofomaha.org/council-members

 

Press Coverage:

Channel 6 WOWT: https://www.wowt.com/content/news/Call-for-change-casts-a-net-beyond-Yale-Park-494400031.html

Channel 3 News Now: 

Press Conference: https://www.3newsnow.com/news/local-news/more-than-2-500-violations-at-yale-park-apartments

7 pm news:  https://www.3newsnow.com/news/local-news/omaha-groups-battle-over-yale-park-regulation-inspection

Omaha World Herald:

Sunday 9/13 https://www.omaha.com/news/metro/i-m-through-playing-nice-omaha-officials-signal-openness-to/article_16dc811e-b27a-51ee-9b55-fd1a1ea1d1c5.html

Press Conference 9/26 https://www.omaha.com/news/metro/landlords-say-they-ll-fight-push-for-more-inspections-of/article_70040401-a769-58b1-a5c8-352c2e828f6e.html

Channel 7 KETV: 

6:00 pm news: https://www.ketv.com/article/otoc-blames-city-for-deplorable-conditions-at-the-yale-park-apartments-demanding-changes/23481165

10:00 pm news: https://www.ketv.com/article/otoc-calls-citys-housing-complaint-system-broken-calls-for-system-change/23482068

Resources:

Overview of Rental Property Registration Ordinance

Newsletter Sign Up